This Issue

Summer 2012

A Remarkable Leader, An Exceptional Person: Dr. Timothy Cottrell Carries on ‘Iolani’s Legacy
Read the full story »

Summer 2012 - Department | Slice of Sports

Slice of Sports

Varsity Sports Wrap Up 2011-12

‘Iolani student athletes in all levels and divisions ended another fulfilling year in a variety of sports. Here are the end-of-season results for varsity teams in the Interscholastic League of Honolulu and at the state level.


  • Bowling (Boys) 1st in ILH
  • Bowling (Girls) 4th in ILH
  • Cheerleading 4th in ILH
  • Cross Country (Boys) 2nd in ILH, 3rd in State
  • Cross Country (Girls) 3rd in ILH, 4th in State
  • Football (Division II) 1st in ILH, 1st in State
  • Volleyball (Girls) 3rd in ILH
  • Water Polo (Boys Division I) 2nd in ILH
  • Water Polo (Boys Division II) 2nd in ILH


  • Basketball (Boys Division I) 4th in ILH
  • Basketball (Boys Divisiion II) 2nd in ILH
  • Basketball (Girls Division I) 1st in ILH, 2nd in State
  • Basketball (Girls Division II) 3rd in ILH
  • Paddling (Girls Varsity I) 5th in ILH
  • Paddling (Girls Varsity II) 7th in ILH
  • Paddling (Boys Varsity I) 8th in ILH
  • Paddling (Boys Varsity II) 6th in ILH
  • Soccer (Boys) 2nd in ILH, 3rd in State
  • Soccer (Girls) 2nd in ILH, 2nd in State
  • Wrestling (Boys) 4th in ILH
  • Wrestling (Girls) 4th in ILH
  • Swimming (Boys) 3rd in ILH, 5th in State
  • Swimming (Girls) 2nd in ILH, 2nd in State


  • Baseball 5th in ILH
  • Golf (Boys) 3rd in ILH, 2nd in State
  • Golf (Girls) 1st in ILH, 1st in State
  • Judo (Boys) 5th in ILH, 4th in State
  • Judo (Girls) 4th in ILH
  • Softball 4th in ILH
  • Tennis (Boys) 2nd in ILH, 2nd in State
  • Tennis (Girls) 2nd in ILH, 2nd in State
  • Track (Boys) 4th in ILH
  • Track (Girls) 2nd in ILH, 2nd in State
  • Volleyball (Boys) 3rd in ILH
  • Water Polo (Girls Division I) 3rd in ILH
  • Water Polo (Girls Division II) 3rd in ILH

Top of the Page

Year of Firsts For ‘Iolani Golf

With the return of seniors Lorens Chan ’12 and Marissa Chow ’12, the 2012 season began with a promising outlook. Both teams did not disappoint.

Rose Huang ’15, Marissa Chow ’15, Keilyn Ing ’15, Hana Furuichi ’15, Ayumi Sakamoto ’15
The girls team, comprised of five freshmen along with Marissa (Hana Furuichi ’15, Rose Huang ’15, Keilyn Ing ’15, Kristi Koyanagi ’15 and Ayumi Sakamoto ’15) finished the regular season as ILH champions. The team won 6 of 10 regular season tournaments to win the school’s first ILH title ever in golf. Chow ranked first with the lowest season average of 71.6. She was named ILH Player of the Year for girls. The team took the momentum from the regular season title into the David S. Ishii Foundation HHSAA Girls Golf Championship at the Wailua Golf Course on Kaua‘i and won the school’s first State title in girls golf. The team finished the two-day tournament with a score of 454, 7 strokes ahead of 5-time champion, Punahou. Individually, the team was led by freshman, Rose Huang (71-75 146) who finished second, 1 stroke behind Kaci Komoto of Punahou. Other members of the State Championship team included Keilyn Ing (76-78 154), Hana Furuichi (75 - 80 155), Marissa Chow (75 - 80 155), Ayumi Sakamoto (76 - 80 156).

Coach Glenn Inouye ’69, Eric Le ’13, Trey Kidd ’13, Reese Suzuki ’13, Lorens Chan ’12, Coach Matt Ma ’03
The boys finished the ILH regular season third behind Kamehameha and Punahou. The team was led by 2012 ILH Player of the Year Lorens Chan, who was ranked first, with a season average of 67.6 (5 scores total 23 under par). The boys went into the HHSAA Boys Golf Championship as underdogs to OIA Champions Moanalua and ILH Champions Kamehameha. With the minimum of four qualified players, the boys embraced the One Team spirit and finished a respectable runner-up to Moanalua (585 - 593).

Coach Bo Hunter, Coach Kana Aikawa, Ayumi Sakamoto ’15, Hana Furuichi ’15, Marissa Chow ’12, Keilyn Ing ’15, Rose Huang ’15, Coach Glenn Inouye ’69 (missing Kristi Koyanagi ’15).
Individually, Lorens Chan finished in third (71 - 72 143 1 under par). Other members of the State team were Reese Suzuki ’13 (72 - 77 149), Trey Kidd ’13 (74 - 76 150), and Eric Le ’13 (70 - 81 151). Lorens finished his high school golf careers as ‘Iolani’s second two times State Champion. Kalani Kiaaina ’94 won State Championships in 1993 and 1994.

- Submitted by Coach Glenn Inouye ’69

Top of the Page

Breanne Ball ’12 Signs Letter of Intent

Surrounded by family and friends, Breanne Ball ’12, center, signed her National Letter of Intent. Also pictured are her father Col. Arthur Thomas Ball, grandmater Nelda O’Bannon, brother Brandon Ball ’09 and mother Barbie Ball.
‘Iolani senior Breanne Ball ’12 signed a national letter of intent on May 8 to attend Texas Christian Univeristy on an athletic scholarship.

She will compete on the Horned Frog track and field team. She signed her letter in the Headmaster’s Office with her parents,‘Iolani administrators, coaches, teachers, and friends in attendance.

Top of the Page

Athletic Awards Presentation

The ‘Iolani School end-of-year Athletic Awards Assembly took place on Mat 23 in the lower gymnasium. The school recognized all-star athletes, Eddie Hamada Award recipients, and major Athletic Award winners.

Congratulations go to all student athletes for exemplifying the One Team spirit on and off the playing field.
Student-athletes received major awards at the Athletic Awards Assembly on May 23.

Father Bray Award

to the senior athletes who best exemplify the ‘Iolani spirit

Scott Tan ’12
Saphyre Rezentes ’12
Breanne Ball ’12

“I” Club award

to the senior athletes of superior athletic ability who unselfishly and sincerely helped to promote good sportsmanship and fair play

Kacy Johnson ’12
Kylie Rae Maeda ’12

Walter Goo Trophy

to those members of the graduating class who combine the qualities of outstanding athletic ability and fine academic records

Lorens Chan  ’12
Malia Brennan ’12

Tim Scott Award

to the seniors, who through exemplary personal effort within their personal God-given abilities, have achieved distinction in both athletics and academics, thereby perpetuating the memory of Tim Scott, for whom this award is named

Trey Muraoka ’12
Lauren Arakawa ’12

James H. Pott Award

to senior student athletes who best exemplifies the highest standards of personal excellence and sportsmanship for teammates and school.

Troy Esaki ’12
Matthew Noguchi ’12
Bobbi Oshiro ’12

Tokuo Kaneshige Award

to the seniors who best exemplify the combined qualities of leadership, scholarship and athletic ability as determined by the Headmaster

Duke Pauli ’12
Marissa Chow ’12

Raider Award

to the underclass persons, who in the past year most unselfishly and sincerely helped to promote good sportsmanship and fair play, who are most inspirational and best exemplify determination, courage and desire

Sean Chan ’13
Abrianna Johnson-Edwards ’13

Top of the Page