This Issue

Spring 2011

‘Iolani’s Endowed Chairs: Making a Great School Even Greater
Read the full story »

Spring 2011 - Department | Pictures from the Past

The Cum Laude Society

Pictured in the 1976 winter edition of the ‘Iolani School Bulletin were: left to right, Mark Takahashi ’76, Alan Song ’76, Ryan Nakagawa ’76, Brian Worth ’76, Lee McCracken ’76, Lance Goto ’76, Don Tamura ’76, Kiman Wong ’76, John Sakamoto ’76, Garret Kawamura ’76, Elston Kitamori ’76, Brent Shigeoka ’76, Keith Kanemaru ’76, Elton Wong ’76. Missing from the photo were Richardo Miller ’76 and Mark Sugino ’76.
As a member of the Cum Laude Society, ‘Iolani School is among a select number of secondary schools across the nation qualified for this academic honor. ‘Iolani is the only school on Oahu that belongs to the society for which past Headmaster Burton Allan MacClean initiated ‘Iolani joining. The impact of his leadership has continued long after he left ‘Iolani. In 1976, sixteen members of the senior class were selected as new members of the ‘Iolani Cum Laude Society based on their academic rankings, grade point averages, and extracurricular activities.