This Issue

Winter 2010

Plugged In with Purpose
Read the full story »

Winter 2010 - Other News | School

‘Iolani’s 16th Annual Scholarship Breakfast

The good work of ‘Iolani School was shared over warm eggs, Portuguese sausage and papaya as representatives of named scholarships met with the students who benefit from their assistance at the 16th annual ‘Iolani Scholarship Breakfast on September 11 at the Headmaster’s residence.

Headmaster Dr. Val Iwashita ’67 and his wife Cynthia greeted guests and expressed their gratitude to donors whose support enriches the lives of students and enables the school to fulfill its mission of good citizenship and strong values. In addition, students personally thanked them for helping to make their dream of attending ‘Iolani possible. Many named scholarships were also represented by family members.

Left to right, sitting, Gail Haruki, Tori Teramae ’14, Warren Haruki; standing Kevin Jones ’10, Cynthia Iwashita, Debbie Lim and Luc Lavatai ’15. See more photos »
Chaplain Diane Martinson-Koyama delivered the prayer followed by Director of Institutional Advancement Jane Heimerdinger who addressed more than 300 students and donors seated at tables on the lawn. Several members of the ‘Iolani Board of Governors also were present.

Programs Represented at the Scholarship Breakfast

  • ABC Stores Scholarship Endowment
  • Chung Kun Ai Scholarship
  • Dana Meulan Pua'ala Alama-Yap Scholarship
  • Peter F.C. Armstrong Scholarship
  • Auntie Scholarship
  • Bilingual Students Scholarship
  • Father Bray Scholarship
  • Han Y. and Myrna Ching Endowed Scholarship
  • Hung Wo & Elizabeth Lau Ching Scholarship
  • Dr. Jonathan Y. C. Ching and Mr. Frederick K. F. Ching '41 Scholarship
  • Roy K.P. '37 and Elizabeth Chong Scholarship
  • Christian Scholarship
  • Patrick K.C. Chun, M.D. '63 Family Scholarship
  • Class of 1950 Scholarship
  • Class of 1951 Scholarship
  • Class of 1953 Scholarship
  • David P. Coon Scholarship
  • Richard Corris Scholarship
  • Wayne DeMello Scholarship
  • Bayard H. Dillingham Memorial Scholarship
  • Peter L. Firehock Memorial Scholarship
  • First Hawaiian Foundation Scholarship
  • Freeman Scholars Program
  • Fujimoto Family Scholarship
  • Gabelli Funds Scholarship
  • Father Charles Halter Scholarship
  • Edward K. Hamada Scholarship
  • Gustav and Faiaso Hannemann Scholarship
  • Haruki Family Scholarship
  • Michael Hite/Van Darrow Scholarship
  • Honolulu Chinese Junior Chamber of Commerce Foundation Scholarship
  • ‘Iolani Alumni Association Scholarship
  • K.S. Scholarship
  • Tokuo Kaneshige Scholarship
  • Hajime Katayama Scholarship
  • Rex Kuwasaki Scholarship Endowment
  • Emily L. & Mabel C. Ladd Scholarship
  • William Y.S. Lee Scholarship
  • Patrick and Debra Lim Family Scholarship
  • Dr. Thomas Mar Scholarship
  • McInerny Foundation Scholarship
  • Thomas H. Miller Scholarship
  • Herbert & Margarita Mist Trust Scholarship
  • Ken & Aiko Mukai Scholarship
  • Oren Nagasako '90 Scholarship
  • Harry Y. and Hatsuyo Oda Scholarship
  • Richard T. Okinaka Family Scholarship
  • H.Q. and Minnie Pang Scholarship
  • Charles Lewis and Juanita Claflin Riggin Scholarship
  • Frances and Nellian Sen Scholarship
  • Lester Sen Memorial Scholarship
  • Anthony S.Y. Seto '55, M.D. Scholarship
  • Seto Family Scholarship
  • Clifford and Aileen Shin Family Scholarship
  • Nan Chul Shin Scholarship
  • Fred Shintaku Family Scholarship
  • Arthur G. Smith/Cades Schutte Fleming & Wright Scholarship
  • C.V. Starr Scholarship
  • Stone Scholarship
  • Sukamto Foundation, Inc.
  • Sullivan Family Scholarship
  • SYA Scholarship
  • The Tamotsu and Esther Tanaka Family Scholarship
  • Hugh C. Tennent Scholarship
  • Donna J. Walden Scholarship
  • Harry & Jeanette Weinberg Foundation Scholarship
  • G.N. Wilcox Trust Scholarship
  • Betty & Theodore Wong Scholarship
  • Harvey K. Wong Memorial Scholarship
  • Kai Wong Memorial Scholarship Endowment
  • Raymond W.C. Wong Family Scholarship
  • XTERRA Foundation Scholarship
  • C.Q. Yee Hop & Family Scholarship
  • John S.C. Yee Family Scholarship
  • Yuan Wong Gaylor Scholarship Endowment