This Issue

Fall 2009

On Board & Ready, Willing and Able to Serve
Read the full story »

Fall 2009 - Department | Pictures from the Past

Cum Laude Society

On October 30, 1970, 22 ‘Iolani seniors were inducted into the ‘Iolani chapter of the Cum Laude Society, which recognizes academic achievement in secondary schools for the purpose of promoting excellence (Areté), justice (Diké) and honor (Timé). Still today, ‘Iolani is the only school in Hawai‘i recognized by the Cum Laude Society.

Members of the Class of ’70, left to right, belonging to the Cum Laude Society were Cyrus Won, Charles Heye, Andrew Char, Kim Kanzaki, Stanley Muraoka, Clifford Lee, Lawrence Nagasawa, Wayne Kamitaki, Kenneth Derby, Brian Tabata, Kenneth Harrenstein, Russell Yamada, Stephen Naruto, Neil Shibuya, Melvin Matsumoto, Douglas Wong, Clyde Yokota, Thomas St. John, Theodore Chun, Lloyd Kim, Clayton Chang and Kennan Wong. (Reprinted from the ‘Iolani School Bulletin winter 1970)